History: A War with Five Presidents

The Vietnam War, which lasted from 1955 to 1975, was the longest war in U.S. history up until the war in Afghanistan. The Vietnam War is one that caused lots of controversy and upheavals between the U.S. citizens and the U.S. government. During the Vietnam War period, one president was assassinated and the first U.S. Presidential resignation occurred. Throughout the Vietnam War there were five presidents: Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson, Richard Nixon, and Gerald Ford. The Pentagon Papers revealed that the Vietnam War Presidents, specifically Eisenhower, Kennedy, and Johnson, had misled the U.S. about the involvement within the war.

The release of the Pentagon Papers also hurt Nixon by leading to the revelation of the Watergate Scandal, which was when employees of the Nixon Administration broke into the National Democratic Committee Headquarters in order to tap into the phones and steal documents; this ultimately led to Nixon’s resignation. The Pentagon Papers theft trial was brought to a halt and the charges against Daniel Ellsberg and Anthony Russo were overturned once the Watergate Scandal was revealed.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s